We are running on skeleton staff with strict distancing rules. See our Coronavirus update.

Fiction

Items 41 to 50 of 92 total

top control
per page

View as: Switch to Grid view (top control)

  • The Favourite by S.V. Berlin

    An utterly immersive novel, rich with insightful and wickedly comic observations of family members behaving badly in stressful situations - of sibling rivalries, a parent torn between two, and a greiving process that takes time to unfold. 'Original, surprising, and immensely skilled... twisting in unexpected directions and keeping the reader on their toes throughout. Underneath the gentle suburban drama, here is an intricately crafted plot featuring three fascinating characters - this is a fantastically assured debut.' The Bookbag Also available as an eBook. Learn More
  • Twentysix by Jonathan Kemp

    In the tradition of Georges Bataille, Kathy Acker and Jean Genet, these twenty-six erotic encounters combine to form a highly charged alphabet on the pursuit of pleasure and possibilities of language. "Adeptly explores the dizzying heights and dark depths of sexuality. Kemp takes no prisoners as he consistently delivers stunning imagery which assaults the senses." - Sosogay Learn More
  • London Triptych by Jonathan Kemp

    Winner - QRG Best Book (Fiction) 2010 Winner - Authors' Club Best First Novel Award 2010 Shortlisted - Polari First Book Prize 2010 Shortlisted - The Green Carnation Prize - 2010 Three men, three lives and three eras sinuously entwine in a dark, startling and unsettling narrative of sex, exploitation and dependence set against London's strangely constant gay underworld. "London Triptych is, hands down, the most heart-wrenching and profound piece of literature I have read this year." - Pink Sheep Cafe Also available as an eBook Learn More
  • We Go Around in the Night and Are Consumed By Fire by Jules Grant

    Voiced by Donna and her streetwise god-daughter Aurora, this thrillingly original crime novel unfolds at breakneck speed at once furious, tender and heartbreaking. 'Moments almost breathlessly tender mix with hard resolve, making for a strong, satisfying read.' Booklist Online Learn More
  • Interpreters by Sue Eckstein

    Winner - People's Book Prize for Fiction 2013 Interweaving universal themes - the nature of identity, the meaning of family, the emotional legacy of the past - Interpreters magnificently unravels the impact of a war that resonates across four generations. "A fascinating book spanning five generations and asking questions about damaged families and the power of secrets that can't be communicated." - The Bookbag Also available as an eBook Learn More
  • The Bad Doctor by Ian Williams

    A humane, moving and often very funny graphic novel about the life of a country doctor and those of his patients, cartoonist and doctor Ian Williams introduces us to Dr Iwan James: cyclist, doctor, would-be lover, former heavy metal fan and, above all, human being. 'The territory of doctor as patient has been visited before, but Dr. Williams’s iteration and its resolution are as subtle and thought provoking as the best of them.' New York Times Paperback: 224 pages Size: 170mm x 230mm Learn More
  • Magnetism by Ruth Figgest

    Mother and daughter Caroline and Erica are best of friends and worst of enemies. Set in the American mid- and south-west, their story unfolds over more than 50 years against a backdrop of sweeping social change. Feisty and argumentative, they roll with the punches, surviving car crashes, awkward family gatherings, relationship disasters—and plastic surgery. Sharply observed and darkly comic, Magnetism notches a riveting new path through this most fundamental of family ties. "Ruth Figgest has a deep understanding of the human condition in all its many guises and depicts it with razor-sharp accuracy. Her characters are emotionally vulnerable, self-sabotaging, and prone to exhilaratingly outrageous behaviour, but they somehow never lose our sympathy. This is psychologically acute, perceptive and witty writing that can make you laugh out loud and wince with discomfort at the same time." - Umi Sinha "Ruth Figgest demonstrates how to make a story about more than one thing at once. Her astute young heroine faces the prospect of plastic surgery to render her looks more pleasing to her lovingly fault-finding mother but simultaneously arrives at a new understanding of the state of her parents’ marriage and the ambivalent purpose she has to serve within it." - Patrick Gale Learn More
  • The Murder of Harriet Monckton by Elizabeth Haynes

    On 7 November 1843, the body of 23-year-old Harriet Monckton is found behind a chapel in Bromley, Kent. A delicious Victorian crime novel based on a real murder. Hardback. 512 pages. Size: 21.6 x 13.5mm. Also available as an eBook Learn More
  • Becoming Unbecoming by Una

    A devastating personal account of gender violence told in graphic-novel form, set against the backdrop of the 1970s Yorkshire Ripper man-hunt. 'She dedicates her book ‘to all the others.’ It’s the first book I ever read that was dedicated to me.' Sarah Hildebrand, Public Books Learn More
  • Miss Laila Armed And Dangerous by Manu Joseph

    A gripping new novel posing searching questions about political forces and religious divisions with an ingenious twist. Also available as an eBook Paperback. 224 pages. 19.8cm x 12.9cm. Publisher: Myriad. Language: English Learn More

Items 41 to 50 of 92 total

bottom control
per page

View as: Switch to Grid view (bottom control)