We are running on skeleton staff with strict distancing rules. See our Coronavirus update.

Fiction

Items 31 to 40 of 90 total

top control
per page

View as: Switch to Grid view (top control)

  • Noon in Paris, Eight in Chicago by Douglas Cowie

    Sharp and intimate, Douglas Cowie's reimagining of the turbulent love affair between Simone de Beauvoir and Nelson Algren asks what it means to love and be loved by the right person at the wrong time. 'This intoxicating portrayal of raw animal-magnetism is a reimagining of the love affair between Simone de Beauvoir and Nelson Algren. It is vividly atmospheric – the literary equivalent of stepping into a Hopper painting. I was walking those 1947 Chicago streets with them.' Pool Learn More
  • North Facing by Tony Peake

    A novel of awakening and atonement, this exquisitely realised story revisits a seminal boyhood moment as it plays out — with unexpected and sinister consequences — against the backdrop of political upheaval in South Africa. ‘This beautiful, moving novel is vast in how much it recounts and how deeply it makes us feel’ Edmund White Learn More
  • eBook: Remember, Remember by Lisa Cutts

    This second book in the DC Nina Foster series (now optioned for a major TV drama) is a taut and gripping police procedural crime novel. "If you love detective books, you are going to adore this one: fast-paced, brilliantly-plotted, and [...] every single word of it credible." - Brighton and Hove Independent Learn More

    Regular Price: £7.99

    Special Price £6.39

  • eBook: Quilt by Nicholas Royle

    Nicholas Royle challenges and experiments with literary form to forge a new mode of storytelling that is both playful and inquisitive. Tender, absorbing and at times shockingly funny, this extraordinary novel is both mystery and love story. It confronts the mad hand of grief while embracing the endless possibilities of language. "An intense study of grief and mental disintegration, a lexical celebration and a psychological conundrum... Royle explores loss and alienation perceptively and inventively." - Guardian Learn More

    Regular Price: £7.99

    Special Price £6.39

  • An English Guide to Birdwatching by Nicholas Royle

    Compelling, audacious and dazzling in its linguistic playfulness and formal invention, An English Guide to Birdwatching explores the fertile hinterland between fact and fiction. In its focus on birds, climate change, the banking crisis, social justice and human migration, it is intensely relevant to wider political concerns; in its mischievous wit and wordplay, and post-modern (or ‘post-fiction’) sensibility, it pushes the boundaries of what a novel might be. ‘An English Guide to Birdwatching is a daring novel, both wickedly playful and deeply touching.’ Alison Moore Learn More
  • Revenge of the Tide by Elizabeth Haynes

    Elizabeth Haynes' second novel is a taut and gripping murder mystery introducing a compelling new heroine, Genevieve " office worker by day and pole dancer by night " who finds herself implicated in a mob underworld of murder, corruption and betrayal. "Full of suspense and intrigue and keeps the reader hanging on its every word, as well as being very well written... Very highly recommended." - Euro Crime Learn More
  • Never Alone by Elizabeth Haynes

    HE'S BACK. HE'S WATCHING. AND HE'LL WAIT. From the award-winning and bestselling author of Into the Darkest Corner comes a gripping new psychological thriller. "Never Alone is an atmospheric and beautifully written thriller that is impossible to put down. I tore through it, gripped all the way to the pulse-pounding ending. Brilliant." - Mark Edwards Learn More
  • eBook: Into the Darkest Corner by Elazabeth Haynes

    Winner - Amazon Best Book of the Year 2011 Bestseller - New York Times 2012 Winner - Prix des Lecteurs 2012 This is an edgy and powerful first novel, utterly convincing in its portrayal of obsession, and a tour de force of suspense. "A chilling, page-turning read that charts domestic violence without flinching and portrays OCD with insight and compassion." Learn More

    Regular Price: £7.99

    Special Price £6.39

  • The Favourite by S.V. Berlin

    An utterly immersive novel, rich with insightful and wickedly comic observations of family members behaving badly in stressful situations - of sibling rivalries, a parent torn between two, and a greiving process that takes time to unfold. 'Original, surprising, and immensely skilled... twisting in unexpected directions and keeping the reader on their toes throughout. Underneath the gentle suburban drama, here is an intricately crafted plot featuring three fascinating characters - this is a fantastically assured debut.' The Bookbag Also available as an eBook. Learn More
  • Twentysix by Jonathan Kemp

    In the tradition of Georges Bataille, Kathy Acker and Jean Genet, these twenty-six erotic encounters combine to form a highly charged alphabet on the pursuit of pleasure and possibilities of language. "Adeptly explores the dizzying heights and dark depths of sexuality. Kemp takes no prisoners as he consistently delivers stunning imagery which assaults the senses." - Sosogay Learn More

Items 31 to 40 of 90 total

bottom control
per page

View as: Switch to Grid view (bottom control)